NASA Livestreams Update on ‘Curiosity’s’ Progress Today

 

                  FE_DA_120808Mars425x283

 

NASA will host a media teleconference at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT) today, Tuesday, Aug. 14, to provide a status update on the Curiosity rover's mission to Mars' Gale Crater.

The Mars Science Laboratory spacecraft delivered Curiosity to its target area on Mars at 10:31 p.m. PDT, Aug. 5 (1:31 a.m. EDT, Aug. 6). Mission controllers at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., spent last week beginning initial checks of Curiosity's 10 instruments and updating software for its two-year mission to investigate whether conditions have been favorable for microbial life and preserving clues in the rocks about possible past life.

Audio of the event will be streamed live online at: http://www.nasa.gov/newsaudio . Visuals will be available at the start of the event at: http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/msl/telecon/.

 

"The Galaxy" in Your Inbox, Free, Daily