News Flash: NASA Sets Launch Coverage Events for Juno Mission to Jupiter

Jupiter-s-Great-Red-Spot-During-Late-Jovian-Afternoon-Photographed-by-Voyager-2-Spacecraft (1)

The Voyager 2 image above shows Jupiter from the equator to the southern polar latitudes including the Great Red Spot, a storm that has been spinning like a cyclone for hundreds of years.

NASA's Juno spacecraft is set to launch toward Jupiter aboard a United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket on Aug. 5. The launch window extends from 11:34 a.m. to 12:33 p.m. EDT (8:34 to 9:33 a.m. PDT), and the launch period extends through Aug. 26.

Juno will conduct an in-depth study of Jupiter. Using a spinning, solar-powered spacecraft, Juno will make maps of the gravity, magnetic fields, and atmospheric composition of Jupiter from a unique polar orbit. Juno will carry precise high-sensitivity radiometers, magnetometers, and gravity science systems .


During its one-year mission, Juno will complete 33 eleven-day-long orbits and will sample Jupiter's full range of latitudes and longitudes. From its polar perspective, Juno combines in situ and remote sensing observations to explore the polar magnetosphere and determine what drives Jupiter’s remarkable auroras.

The spacecraft is expected to arrive at Jupiter in 2016, on a mission to investigate the gas giant's origins, structure, atmosphere and magnetosphere. Juno's color camera will provide close-up images of Jupiter, including the first detailed views of the planets' poles. Juno will map Jupiter’s gravitation and magnetic fields, revealing the interior structure, the origin of the magnetic field, the mass of its core, the nature of deep convection, and the abundance of water.

NASA will host a prelaunch news conference in the News Center at the agency's Kennedy Space Center in Florida on Wednesday, Aug. 3, at 1 p.m. EDT (10 a.m. PDT).A news conference will be held at the Kennedy News Center approximately 2.5 hours after launch, and a news release will be issued as soon as Juno's condition is determined. Spokespersons will be available for interviews.

On Aug. 3, NASA Television's Media and Education Channels will carry the Juno prelaunch news conference live beginning at 1 p.m. EDT (10 a.m. PDT).

On Aug. 5, NASA Television coverage of the launch will begin at 9 a.m. EDT (6 a.m. PDT) and conclude after spacecraft separation from the Atlas V occurs approximately 53 minutes and 49 seconds after launch.

For NASA Television downlink information, schedule information and streaming video, visit: http://www.nasa.gov/ntv .

For extensive prelaunch and launch coverage online, visit: http://www.nasa.gov .

A prelaunch webcast will be streamed at noon EDT (9 a.m. PDT) on Aug. 4. Live countdown coverage through NASA's Launch Blog begins at 9 a.m. EDT (6 a.m. PDT) on Aug. 5. Coverage features live updates as countdown milestones occur, as well as streaming video clips highlighting launch preparations and liftoff.

error

"The Galaxy" in Your Inbox, Free, Daily